Event Information:

  • Fri


    Gladstone's Library, Church Lane, Hawarden, Flintshire CH5 3DF

    Judging takes place in early August; the winners will be announced at the Gladfest 2019 launch on Friday, 6th September;

    The 12 shortlisted titles for 2020 are:

    • Annabel Abbs, Frieda: The Real Lady Chatterley (Hachette, 2018)
    • Claire Askew, All the Hidden Truths (Hodder & Stoughton, 2018)
    • Jonathan Edwards, Gen (Seren)
    • Isabel Galleymore, Significant Other (Carcanet, 2019)
    • Elisabeth Gifford, The Good Doctor of Warsaw (Corvus, 2018)
    • Katie Hale, My Name is Monster (Canongate, 2019)
    • Rachel Heng, Suicide Club: A Novel About Living (Henry Holt, 2018)
    • Charlotte Higgins, Red Thread: On Mazes and Labyrinths (Jonathan Cape 2018)
    • Daisy Johnson, Everything Under (Vintage, 2018)
    • Alice Jolly, Between the Regions of Kindness (Unbound, 2019)
    • Kaite O’Reilly, Persians (Fair Acre Press 2019)
    • Sarah Stonich, Laurentian Divide (University of Minnesota Press, 2018)

    Winning authors will be awarded up to a month’s residency at Gladstone’s Library, a creative community that is open to the public and based in the world’s only residential library. Previous winners now number over 40 and have included Naomi Alderman (The Power), Peter Moore (The Weather Experiment), Keggie Carew (Dadland), Rowan Hisayo Buchanan (Harmless Like You), Amy Liptrot (The Outrun), Richard Beard (The Day that Went Missing), Melissa Harrison (At Hawthorn Time) and Sarah Perry (The Essex Serpent).

    Peter Francis, Warden of Gladstone’s Library said:

    ‘We are increasingly proud of the residency programme and its ability to bring new thoughts, ideas and books to the Gladstone’s Library community. We look forward to welcoming the winning writers in 2020’.

    This year’s judging panel consists of Trustee of Gladstone’s Library and teacher at Harris Westminster Sixth Form, Freddie Baveystock; Warden of Gladstone’s Library, Peter Francis; Director of Collections and Research at Gladstone’s Library, Louisa Yates; as well as three past recipients of the Writers in Residence award - poet Penny Boxall (Ship of the Line); and novelists Rachel Malik (Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves) and Rowan Hisayo Buchannan (Harmless Like You).

    Judging takes place in early August; the winners will be announced at the Gladfest 2019 launch on Friday, 6th September; and the programme will be officially launched on Monday, 25th November at the National Liberal Club in London when the winning authors will read from their work.

    2020 is the programme’s ninth year: keep an eye out for our 2021 birthday celebrations!